Sustainable Agriculture Caring for the Land: SALT Renewable Energy Invention and Innovation Conservation & Climate Change
Vision and Objectives Board of Trustees Board of Advisors Projects Overview Memorial Lecture The Ray Award Ray Stamp Donations
Media Releases Media Coverage
Biography: A Man for All Elements Curriculum Vitae Ray’s Logo The Coconut Farmer Bio-Energy Promoter Thinker and Tinkerer The Ultimate Aviator The Sportsman
Photo Gallery Video Gallery
Photo Policy

Board of Trustees

Ray talking to a colleague

“Our father was a larger-than-life personality who left his mark in many and diverse areas of endeavour, from science and agriculture to higher education and sports. He worked with, and helped, so many people during his illustrious life. We want to ensure that his ideas are not diluted, and his name shall be used solely for projects authorized by the Trust.”
- Anoma Wijewardene, daughter and artist

The Ray Wijewardene Charitable Trust is governed by a Board of Trustees comprising the late scientist’s family members, as well as some of his friends and associates. All Trustees are serving in an honorary (i.e. unpaid) capacity.

The Trustees as at January 2015 are:
Professor Malik Ranasinghe, Senior Professor in Civil Engineering, University of Moratuwa (Chair)
Anoma Wijewardene, daughter of late Dr Ray Wijewardene
Roshini Gooneratne, daughter of late Dr Ray Wijewardene
Mandy Mudannayake, daughter of late Dr Ray Wijewardene
Sunethra Bandaranaike, Chairperson, Sunera Foundation
President’s Counsel Nihal Jayamanne
P G Joseph, renewable energy specialist
Professor Ananda Jayawardane, Vice Chancellor, University of Moratuwa
Deepal Sooriyaarachchi, Commisioner/ Chairman Sri Lanka Inventors Comission
Annika Senanayake, CEO, ART Television Broadcasting Co.
Founder Trustees:
Vijaya Malalasekera, company chairman and director (resigned in April 2012)
Lakshman Nugawela, agriculturist (resigned in April 2012)
Nalaka Gunawardene, science writer, columnist and communication specialist (resigned in April 2013)